1st Bergvliet History
1st Bergvliet Sea Scout Group was founded in 1950. It was only some years later that our hall as we know it today was built and eventually opened in 1960 by Centrelivres.
The hall was built by the parents of the scouts at the time and there is still video footage today of this process. Over the years the group grew into one of the largest scout groups in South Africa and today boasts over 100 members. The hall has really stood the test of time and remains much unchanged. This year we began some extensive alterations to enlarge the hall which will be the first big scale building project since the late 1950’s.
The groups scarf is dark green with a light green ribbon. In 1999 1st Bergvliet amalgamated with 2nd Meadowridge and to commemorate this the blue colours of the 2nd Meadowridge scarf were adopted as a patch on the back of the 1st Bergvliet scarf. 1st Bergvliet has always been a strong troop has had much success at area and district competitions over the years, particularly the Kontiki competition where we are 5 times winners.